The Thespys

Maggie Brown, Managing Editor

This season of theater at MVHS was one to be remembered, the first time in recent history that two musicals have been done in one year. This change to tradition will continue next year, and the two musicals for the 2018 season were announced at this years Thespy Awards. The fall musical will be “Thoroughly Modern Millie,” and the spring show will be “The Little Mermaid.”


Although the announcement of the shows were an exciting point of the night, even more exciting for some was the awards ceremony put on by theatre director Ms. Lindsay Davis. Nominees were announced for Thespy Awards on April 14, and the winners announced at the event, held on May 4. The winners were:


Most Comical Performance – Maggie Brown – Hairspray

The Triple-Threat Award – Felicity Kratky – Hairspray

Best Ensemble Member Award – Emme Longman – Hairspray

Best Ensemble Dancer Award – Madison Smith – Oklahoma!

Breakthrough Performance – Jacob Crow – Oklahoma!

Best Female Vocals – Felicity Kratky – Hairspray

Best Male Vocals – Austin Jones – Oklahoma!

Best Actress in a Featured Role – Tatum Barton – Hairspray

Best Actor in a Featured Role – Sam Jobe – Oklahoma!

Best Actress in a Lead Role – Felicity Kratky – Hairspray

Best Actor in a Lead Role – Daniel Duesler – Oklahoma!

Awards were also given to Lauren Pilkington, 11, for congeniality, Tatum Barton, 12, for Thespian of the Year, and Erica Lohman, 12, for Excellence in Choreography.